EidoScope

The observable examined

poem by my daughter -4th grade

with 3 comments

All the kids in my daughter’s class were asked to write a poem to start their journal entry for this academic year. Parents were privy to this journal as part of back to school night.  I reproduce here, partly because I am proud of her output, but also for an insight into my daughter’s mind (the reference to mom in particular) that I am not able to easily access during normal conversations. So here goes….

I  am a Poem

I am creative, energetic and active

I wonder how the world was made

I hear my thoughts filling up my mind

I see the ocean rushing from side to side

I want to swim as if I were a fish

I am creative, energetic, and active

I pretend that I am jumping off the cliff and the bottom is full of icy cold water

I feel an iceberg in my body making me shiver with fear

I touch warm heater just heating up my skin

I worry about my cousin trying to make me breakdown by teasing me

I cry when I think about my mom

I am creative, energetic, and active

I understand that I can’t fly or soar like the birds

I say the moon is not made of cheese

I dream of sitting on the clouds way up high

I try to understand math

I hope that pigs will fly with the birds

I am creative, energetic, and active.

Below it is in her own handwriting, spelling mistakes and all :-).

Written by asterix98

September 11, 2011 at 6:51 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice one!!

    Mukunda Krishnappa

    September 28, 2011 at 6:52 am

  2. Touching!! Wish her all the best.

    Deepak Bellur

    October 1, 2011 at 6:52 pm

  3. dear suresh – this is my umpteenth attempt the poem is beautiful and no words can understand or express what she was thinking when she wrote it.
    way to go mahati – love you dearly hope to see you again soon.

    usha

    October 29, 2011 at 6:49 am


Leave a Reply

